Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Oct 29th, 2014

WMS Global Awards for Excellence: 2014 winners emerge

Share This

WNS-WorldMediaSummitBy Tobias Lengnan Dapam

Winners of the World Media Summit (WMS) Global Awards for Excellence 2014 have been announced on Monday.

“The creation of the awards has epoch-making significance, “said Li Congjun, WMS executive chairman, chairman of the judging committee and president of Xinhua News Agency.

“It encourages all people working in the media to keep developing their professional skills and pursue excellence, while inspiring media setups to work with the times in the spirit of innovation, and to be active in our social responsibilities and public welfare,” Li said at the end of the judges’ meeting.

Al Jazeera English was awarded the prize for news teams in developing countries and Indian Sainath Palagummi from The Hindu won the award for news professionals in developing countries.

The media innovation award went to Behind the Bloodshed, a USA Today investigative report, which examined FBI data as well as local police records and media reports to understand mass killings in America.

The award for new media was given to Myanmar Emerges, by GlobalPost of the U.S. The multimedia report described Myanmar’s emergence as one of the most important economic, political and cultural stories of 2013.

The judges were drawn from WMS presidium member organizations, including The Associated Press, TASS, Kyodo News, Al Jazeera and Kasturi & Sons Limited. Veteran newsmen from international media organizations, including Agence France-Presse, Polish Press Agency, Hearst Corporation and Paris Match, were also on the panel, notably David Schlesinger, former editor-in-chief of Reuters News, and Jack Gao, former senior vice president of News Corporation.

“I was pleased to see that people took the awards very seriously and submitted excellent work and gave us very good pieces to choose from,” Schlesinger said. Over 450 news organizations and more than 500 professionals from 138 countries and region submitted over 1,400 entries.

Stressing that the media is undergoing great change, he said “it is fascinating to see what different companies and journalists around the world are doing in terms of innovation to change themselves for the better.”

The WMS Global Awards for Excellence are the first comprehensive news awards covering multiple media formats, including traditional press, photography, video and integrated media. The awards are intended to be authoritative, credible and globally influential. They are open to news agencies, newspapers, TV stations and news websites around the world.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: