Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Fri, Jan 9th, 2015

UNIBEN/Edo face-off: CSOs demand resignation of justice commissioner

Share This

From Osaigbovo Iguobaro, Benin

Edo civil society organisations (EDOCSO) yesterday demanded the resignation of Edo state commissioner for justice, Barrister Henry Idahagbon for allegedly “committing fallacy of hasty conclusion’’ over the disputed property which University of Benin and the state government were claiming.

Idahagbon recently threatened to resign if the claimant (University of Benin) show convincing evidence to the plaintiffs (the state government) that it has appealed the judgment over the disputed university lecturer’s quarters, some parts of Government Reservation Area in Benin.

It would be recalled that the 18- buildings were demolished by suspected thugs believed to be enforcing the court order of Edo state High court judgment in favour of the state donated as gift to the

University by the defunct Midwestern Region government under Brig. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia to assist the former Midwest Institute of technology (MIT), now University of Benin in 1974 to solve staff accommodation problems.

This position was contained in a statement jointly signed by Coordinator General Comrade and Secretary General of the group, Comrade Aifuwa Bartholomew in response to the unfolding debacle.

“The state government acted in bad fate by using thugs to intimidate and demolish the buildings with belongings trapped in the buildings without notices to occupants, according to the group who also demanded for an apology by the state government.

It condemned the burning down of the state government owned 44-seater bus by persons suspected to be sympathetic to the cause of the University of Benin, Ugbowo campus on Wednesday morning.

It also called on the state government and the University through their counsels to seek an amicable solution to resolve the issues in court instead of resorting to self help.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: