Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Sep 23rd, 2020

U-17 Captain, Osimhen, Ajayi top Rohr’s 23-man squad for Ivory Coast/Tunisia friendlies

Share This

Thomas Dennerby and Maureen Mmadu

By Amaechi Agbo

Golden Eaglets 2019 U-17 FIFA World Cup captain, Samson Tijani is among new invitees by Super Eagles coachGeenot Rohr for the October double friendly matches against Ivory Coast and Tunisia,
Nigeria will play the former Africa Cup of Nations champions in October preparatory to 2022 AFCON qualifiers in November against Sierra Leone.
The Nigeria Football Federation Monday released the list of invited players for the two matches with notable stars such as Napoli hitman, Victor Osimhen as well as West Brom player maker, Semi Ajayi in the fray.
Also the coach called up on loan Benfica defender TyronneEbuehi who has displayed class since joining FC Twente In the Dutch Eredivisie.
The NFF on September 2nd announced friendly matches with Cote d’Ivoire and Tunisia.
Gernot Rohr’s team will take on the Elephants of Ivory Coast on October 9 in Austria and will then face the Carthage Eagles of Tunisia at the same venue four days later.
Since defeating Lesotho 4-2 in an Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at Maseru’s Setsoto Stadium on November 17, 2019, the Super Eagles are yet to play a match in 2020 owing to the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic.
The Gernot Rohr led lads currently top their Group L in the qualifying race with maximum six points from 2 matches.
Nigeria will take on Tunisia on the 9th of October before squaring up against Côte d’Ivoire four days later at same venue in Austria.

The 23-man Full List:
Goalkeepers: Dele Alampasu (FK Ventspils, Latvia); Matthew Yakubu (SKF Sered, Slovakia); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); ChidozieAwaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); OlaoluwaAina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); OghenekaroEtebo (Galatasary SK, Turkey); Samson Tijani (TSV Hartberg, Austria)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Cyril Dessers (KRC Genk, Belgium); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); ChideraEjuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

Standby: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey); Ramon Azeez (Granada CF, Spain); Joshua Maja (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Henry Onyekuru (AS Monaco, France); TyronneEbuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands)

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: