Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Jun 23rd, 2014

Tambuwal, Ihedioha hail INEC

Share This

By Umar Muhammad Puma

Speaker of the House of Representative, Hon Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, has commended the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for conducting the free, fair and credible governorship election in Ekiti state.

In a statement issued by his Special Adviser on Media and Public Affairs, Imam Imam, Tambuwal said.

INEC deserves commendation for its conduct of the election, and advised the electoral

umpire to properly appraise all aspects of the exercise and improve for future polls where necessary.

He also commended Ayodele Fayose of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on his emergence as the Governor-elect of Ekiti State, even as he equally commended Governor Kayode Fayemi for conceding defeat.

Similarly, the Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha, in his reaction to the victory, described it as a strategic bolster to the PDP not just in the Southwest geopolitical zone, but in the entire country.

In a statement from his media aide, Ihedioha said the outcome of Ekiti polls is an indication of what is to play out in the 2015 general elections, especially in states controlled by the opposition APC.

Noting that the election was widely observed to be free and fair with massive turn out of voters, he commended INEC and security agencies for doing a thorough job in ensuring a winner emerged through a transparent electoral process.

He said Fayose’s victory has confirmed that the ruling party is the only truly national political platform that is widely accepted by Nigerians from all walks of life, adding that the people of Ekiti State have by their votes decided to belong to the political mainstream.

While congratulating the people of the Ekiti, Hon. Ihedioha urged candidates of other parties who lost in the polls to put the contest behind them and join hands with the winner to move the state forward.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: