Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Oct 14th, 2014

Suswam inaugurates LG development areas committee

Share This

From Uche Nnorom, Makurdi

Governor Gabriel Suswam of Benue State yesterday inaugurated the committee for the creation of local government development areas, with a charge on the committee members not to politicised the assignment.

The Governor who explained that the choice of the members underscores the importance of the assignment, noted that local governments in the State are in dire need of expansion.

He said the last time local governments were created in the State was in 1996, regretting that local councils in the State have been moribund, hence the need to create new ones to fast-track development in the third tier of governance in the State.

He urged the members to take the assignment seriously, warning them against politicizing it, even as he promised that the recommendations of the committee will be given accelerated attention by the State government.

The committee which has a time frame of two months to submit its report, has the mandate to commence the procedure for the creation of local government development councils from the existing local governments in the State.

They were also charged to make extensive consultations with communities, stakeholders, various development associations and their leaders, including traditional rulers, and elicit written and oral memoranda and make recommendations to the State government and to provide boundary adjustments where necessary.

Furthermore, the committee is charged to advice government on other issues relating to the exercise as appropriate, identify any other basic parameters contingent to the creation of local government councils using variables peculiar to the Benue environment.

Meanwhile, the committee which is composed of retired civil servants and some top politicians in the State, is headed by former Speaker Pro-tempore, Hon. TernguTsegba.

Others are former Minority Leader of the Senate, Sen. Daniel Saror, Chief Edwin Omoriegbe, a retired civil servant, as well as the Secretary to the State Government, Dr. David Salifu, who is to act as secretary of the committee.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: