Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, May 6th, 2014

Suarez wins football writers Player of the Year

Share This

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez has been named Player of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The Uruguayan, 27, has scored 30 Premier League goals for a team chasing their first title since 1990.

Suarez took 52% of the vote, with team-mate Steven Gerrard second and Manchester City’s Yaya Toure in third.

“Tireless endeavour allied to extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination,” FWA chairman Andy Dunn said.

Suarez, also named Player of the Year by the Professional Footballers’ Association, will receive his award at a dinner in London on 15 May.

More than 300 journalists cast votes for the 10 nominees for the award, which was first won by Blackpool’s Stanley Matthews in 1948.

Suarez’s tally of 30 goals has come despite the fact that he missed the first six matches of the season as he completed a 10-match domestic ban for biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic during a league match at Anfield in April 2013.

The former Ajax striker’s Liverpool future was in doubt last summer, as he indicated in May that “it would be difficult to say no” to Real Madrid, then told journalists in August that he wanted a move so that he could play in the Champions League.

However, he signed a new four-and-a-half-year contract with Liverpool in December.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: