Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Sep 10th, 2014

Sokoto resident communities get new leadership

Share This

From Raji Bello, Sokoto

The Association of Resident Communities in Sokoto (ARCOS) has inaugurated new elected executive members to pilot its affairs for the next two years.

The new leadership, who commended the people and government of Sokoto, as well as the Sultan of Sokoto for championing the course of peace in the state, also admonished the federal government to ensure the restoration and sustainability of peace in the country.

The chairman of the association, Alhaji Mohammed Ibrahim in his inaugural speech, urged federal government and security agencies to replicate the Sokoto state example to save lives and properties of the Nigerian citizenry.

Ibrahim maintained that the current insecurity of lives and property in some part of the country is worrisome and needs more proactive measures to curtail the ugly trend.

He commended Governor Aliyu Wamakko for his exemplary leadership in maintaining peace and coexistence of the people of Sokoto, despite the deplorable security challenges in the country. “We therefore call on Federal government and security agencies to replicate the Sokoto state example to save lives and property of the citizenry.” Ibrahim charged.

On the recent Ebola virus outbreak in the country, he called on government at all levels to put in place, efficient measures that would effectively curtail further spread of the virus.

Other members elected include Chief Christopher as vice chairman, Dare Samuel Olubunmi as Secretary General, Mr. Okey Nwadukwe as Assistant Secretary, Mrs. D. P Dogo as Treasurer, Alhaji Abdulraham Aliyu as Financial Secretary, and Mr. Isiaku Yari as Assistant Financial Secretary.

Also Elder Ajibola M.S. emerged as the association Public Relation Officer, Barrister E. I Giza as Legal Adviser, while the Welfare Officer Position goes to Chief Ojali, Mr. Emmanuel Sule clinched the position of Provost I, Mr. Gideon Jonah, Provost II, with Mr. Patrick Anthony Atusu, Alhaji Adebola Lawal, Chief Samuel A. and Mr. Gospel Okobo were all elected as ex officio of the association.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: