Senate confirms Buhari 7 CCB nominees, rejects one

By Ikechukwu Okaforadi and Musa Adamu

Senate has confirmed the appointment of seven nominees by President Muhammad Buhari for the board of Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB).
At the end of the screening exercise, Muhammed Isah, from Jigawa (North West) was confirmed Chairman of the board, and Murtala Kankia from Katsina (North West), Emmanuel Attah from Cross River (South South).
Others are: Ubolo Okpanachi from Kogi (North Central), Ken Madaki Alkali from Nasarawa (North Central), Prof. S.F Ogundare from Oyo (South West) and Saad Abubakar from Gombe (North East), were confirmed as members.
The confirmation followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petition chaired by Senator Sam Anyanwu (PDP Imo East) on the screening of the nominees.
However, the Senate, based on the recommendation of the committee, dropped Danjuma Sado from Edo (South South), while the nominations of both Hon.Ganiyu Hamzat from Ogun (South West) and Vincent Nwanli from Ebonyi (South East) were withdrawn by the Presidency as they were conspicuously missing on the list of nominees screened by the committee.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *