Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Fri, Dec 21st, 2018

Senate approves Buhari ICPC, S/Court Justice nominees

Share This

To resume plenary January 16

By Ikechukwu Okaforadi and Musa Adamu

Senate has considered and approved the nominees to the Chairmanship position and membership of Board of Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission (ICPC) as requested by President Muhammadu Buhari.
The upper legislative chamber also confirmed Uwani Musa Abba Aji as a Justice of the Supreme Court.
The confirmation of the Nine ICPC members witnessed a mild protest from a lawmaker, Sen. Bassey Akpan (PDP Akwa Ibom North East) who pointed at the lopsidedness in the composition of the members.
Recall that last week, the Senate stepped down the consideration and confirmation of board members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) over a similar alleged lopsidedness.
Protesting the lopsidedness in the composition of ICPC members at plenary yesterday, Senator Akpan expressed fear that President Muhammadu Buhari administration may not forward new names to balance up the geopolitical zones allegedly shortchanged.
Warning the Senate against going ahead to approve the nomination, the lawmaker pointed out that upon confirmation, the commissioners can form a quorum during any board meeting.
He added that when this is discovered, the Executive may not see the need to ensure that every part of the country is carried along in line with the principles of Federal Character.
But the Senate Leader, Ahmed Lawan ( APC Yobe North) disagreed with Akpan submission, adding that his geopolitical zone, North East doesn’t have any representative on the board.
Lawan promised that negotiations were ongoing with the Executive and that more names will be sent in.
With all the arguments and counter-arguments, when the President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, put the confirmation to a voice vote, it scaled through and none of the nominees was rejected by the Senate.
Those confirmed were Professor Bolaji Owasanoye as chairman(Ondo, South West); Dr. Grace Chinda (Delta, South South); Okolo Titus (Enugu, South East); Obiora Igwedebia (Anambra, South East); and Mrs Olubukola Balogun (Lagos, South West).
Others are Justice Adamu Bello (Katsina, North West); Hannatu Muhammed (Jigawa, North West); Abdullahi Maikano Saidu (Niger, North Central); and Yahaya Umar Dauda (Nasarawa, North Central).
Meanwhile , the Senate has adjourned its plenary sessions till 16th of January next year for Christmas and New year celebrations.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: