Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Dec 4th, 2014

Ruqayyatu, Okojie, others bag ECAN excellence awards

Share This

By Maryam Garba Hassan

Education Correspondents’ Association of Nigeria (ECAN), Abuja Chapter, has organised its first annual awards of excellence in Abuja.

The annual event which is the association’s maiden edition, appreciated both serving and former captains of the education sector for their various contributions to the development of the sector at all levels in the country.

Recipients of the awards include former minister of education, Prof. Ruqayyatu Ahmed Rufai, who received the award for the Most Outstanding Contributor to the development of education in Nigeria, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Dr. Mac John Nwabiala, Pillar of education transformation, Prof. Julius Okojie, Executive Secretary, NUC, for Most Outstanding Contributor to revamping of University education.

Others are the immediate past Minister of state for education, Barr. Ezenwo Nyesom Wike, for Promoting Quality Basic Education, Executive Secretary of National Examination Council, NECO, Prof. Promise Akpala, for being the Most Innovative Chief Executive Officer in the sector among others.

In his welcome address, Minister of Education and Chairman of the occasion, Malam Ibrahim Shekarau, represented by his Special Adviser Media, Chief Nnamdi Olegbaratu, said education is key to everything and mother of all professions.

 He said no nation can rise above it educational level and teachers.

 He commended ECAN for introducing pay back system by appreciating deserving educationists and stakeholders who have performed well in their respective organisations.

In his welcome address, Chairman ECAN Abuja Chapter, Chukwuyen Ukwuatu, said ECAN as the integral part of the activities of all stakeholders in the education sector, took the decision to undertake an appraisal of activities of the players in the sector with a view of making judgment on their performances and devising the awards as the association’s commendation for useful efforts.

According to him, the recipients of the awards  have distinguish themselves in the areas of their individual or corporate assignment and are fit for any award as many of them are already recipients of various  awards from other sources which he said confirms the legitimacy and transparency of the association’s judgment.

He urged the recipients not to relent on the good work they are doing for the benefit of humanity.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: