Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Jun 10th, 2019

Rohr drops Iheanacho, Ajayi from Eagles 23-man AFCON 2019 squad

Share This

By Albert Akota

Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has axed the duo of Kelechi Iheanacho and Semi Ajayi from his final 23-man squad to the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.
Iheanacho struggled for regular playing time at English Premier League outfit Leicester City in the 2018-19 season and failed to convince Rohr he is worthy of a place in the final team for the competition.
Ajayi was a standout performer for Rotherham United in the Sky Bet Championship but was up against more experienced players who play at bigger clubs.
The Super Eagles were held to a 0-0 draw by the Warriors of Zimbabwe in a friendly encounter at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba on Saturday.
The 23 players and their officials are expected to fly to Ismaila on Sunday for the final lap of their preparations for the competition.
The three-time African champions will face the Terangha Lions of Lions in their final friendly match on June 16.
Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)
Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)
Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: