Reps threatens sanction on MDAs evading summon

•To name, shame defaulting MDAs

By Christiana Ekpa

The House of Representatives yesterday vowed to sanction Ministries, Departments and Agencies, MDAs of Federal Government over refusal to honour legislative summon in accordance with the 1999 Constitution (as amended).
The Speaker, Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila gave warning in Abuja while declaring open the public hearing organized by the House Committee Public Accounts (PAC), on the need to investigate the “deliberate and reckless refusal by non Treasury and Partially Funded Agencies to render their audited Accounts covering the period of 2014-2018 to the Auditor General of the federation.
Represented by Deputy Leader of the House, Rep Peter Akpatson, the Speaker stressed that henceforth it would no longer business as usual as the Ninth National Assembly would go all out to compel the defaulting MDAs to adhere strictly to the relevant provisions of the constitution and statutes to account for public funds appropriated to them.
In his address, the Chairman of the Committee, Rep Wole Oke who lamented the lukewarm attitude of the MDAs in rendering accounts of the Funds allocated to the over the years rolled out the long list of the numbers of MDAs involved.
Oke disclosed that the Parliament would have no option than to publish the names of defaulting MDAs in the pages of the National Dailies as a wake up call
“The 9th Assembly is not a ‘Yes’ Assembly or ‘rubber stamp’ one, we will go all out to make all the MDAs to surrender accurate accounts appropriated to them over the years, it very disheartened when some Heads of the MDAs will dodging the Parliament when it comes to rendering of accounts, henceforth, it is not going be business as usual.
Peoples Daily reports that the investigation was at the instance of the House, following a Motion moved and adopted by Hon Sa’ad Abdullahi representing Ningi / Warji Bauchi state who is the Deputy Chairman PAC.
The defaulting Agencies who were not at the public hearing includes: Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN; Federal Inland Revenue Services, FIRS; National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA; Nigeria Post Office, NIPOST ; Nigerian Drug Law Enforcement Agency, NDLEA; among others.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *