Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Oct 28th, 2014

Reps swear in new member, as PDP still in majority

Share This

House of Representatives reps logoReps swear in new member, as PDP still in majority

By Patrick Andrew

Despite the defection of Speaker Aminu Tambuwal to the All Progressives Congress (APC), yesterday the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) still holds majority in the House of Representatives following the swearing in of a new member.

The new member Hon. Teifa Ityav (PDP Benue) represents Buruku Federal Constituency of Benue State in the lower chamber of the apex parliament and replaces Hon Orkev Jev (PDP Benue State) in the House, whose election was recently nullified by the Supreme Court.

The ceremony was conducted shortly after the adoption of the votes and proceedings of the previous legislative session by the Speaker Aminu Waziri Tambuwal.

With the swearing-in the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) still holds the majority position in the green chamber with a 188 members while the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) has 160 members while the remaining positions is shared by other minor parties.

The new member pledged his loyalty to the nation and his willingness to uphold and defend the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as well as all the provisions enshrined in the fifth schedule of the nation’s grand norm.

Meanwhile, the House had adjourned plenary till Wednesday Dec 3, 2014 to enable members participates in the primaries at their various constituencies.

Speaking at a briefing yesterday, the Deputy Chairman of the House Committee on Media and Publicity, Hon. Victor Ogene, said that the leadership of the House is not in contention stressing that neither the 1999 Constitution nor the House Rules has explicit provision on the composition of the House leadership.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: