Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Mar 14th, 2018

Principal honours Jibril Giri, others for exemplary leadership

Share This

By Usman Shuaibu

The principal of Junior Secondary School Sabon Gari in Gwagwalada Area Council of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Mrs Florence Okonkwo, has conferred an award of ‘Pillar of Hope Award’, Hon. Abubakar Jibrin Giri, the former Chairman of Gwagwalada Area Council Area.
Giri, who is currently the Board Chairman of FCT Scholarship Board was among personalities honoured during the first award of the school.
Other awardees include; Dr Jatau Noma; Director in charge of the FCT Universal Basic Education Board (UBEB), Alhaji Usman Jibrin Wowo; former senator representing the FCT, Mr Adamu Mustapha Danze; chairman of Gwagwalada Area Council, Mr Ibrahim Daniel; former chairman of Kwali Area Council.
Also, Alhaji Husseini Agabi; Agabe of Gwargwada, Alhaji Yunusa Aliyu; Etsu of Sabon Gari, Hajiya Safiya Tukura; Gwagwalada LEA Education Secretary and Comrade Shanabo Abubakar the Public Relations Officer of PTA of the school among other dignitaries.
Speaking at the occasion, Mrs. Okonkwo, said the award ceremony was organized to recognize the outstanding contributions of the recipients.
According to her, “this event is held to recognize our distinguished friends, teachers and students who exhibit outstanding qualities that will not only help them in achieving their goals in life but also give due regard to our values and morals.
“The awardees exemplify like discipline, exemplary leadership qualities, compassion and zeal for improvement in our educational system and learning.”
Similarly, Vice-Principal in charge of the Administration in the school, Mr Usman Abdullahi who was the committee chairman of the award, said the award was being organized to honour excellence.
Also speaking, chairman of the occasion, Prof. Bassey Ubom in the Department of Science and Environmental Education at the University of Abuja, described the principal as a epitome of unity.
Responding on behalf of awardees, the Agabe of Gwargwada, Alhaji Husseini Agabi, assured the principal that recipients would not hesitate to continue to support the school in all ramifications.
Peoples Daily reports that the principal also extended award to school teachers, PTA staff, N-Power staff contract staff, Non-Academic staff and students.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: