Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Dec 11th, 2014

Plateau guber aspirants reject PDP primaries

Share This

From Ado Abubakar Musa, Jos

Following the conducted of the governorship primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Plateau State which saw the emergence of Senator Gyang Nyam Pwajok as winner, other aspirants who also contested for the seat have rejected the outcome of the primaries, describing it as incredible.

The aggrieved aspirants who rejected the result of the primary have petitioned the PDP Appeal Panel saying the accreditation process was violated.

While addressing journalists in Jos yesterday, one of the gubernatorial aspirant and former governor of the state, Fidelis Tapgun lamented that “the violation of the provisions guiding the accreditation process led to issues of discrepancy and inability to ascertain the number of delegates in the primary”.

“When the so called voting process commenced, there were no definite figures announced for any local governme nt.

“And to complicate the problem of ascertaining the exact number of accredited delegates was the fact that the document containing the list of the delegates tendered by the Plateau State Organizing Secretary is different from that brought by the electoral Panel Chairman up to when the purported voting commenced.”

Continuing he said, “The electoral panel should have met with all the aspirants where they would be fully briefed on the detailed procedures for the election to verify any doubt on issues before the commencement of voting”.

“The venue of the election was taken over by thugs wearing ushers and protocol tags who were brought into the venue to cause mayhem in the name of being officials in the election, ” he added.

Tapgun further said, their decision to stage a walkout at the venue of the primary was due to the adamant posture of the electoral panel to the abuses of the provisions of the party’s guidelines.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: