Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Sep 30th, 2014

Pinnick beats Ogunjobi, Iorfa to emerge new NFF president

Share This

By Albert Akota

Delta State Football Association chairman, Amaju Pinnick has been elected the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

Pinnick won 32 votes of the 44-man congress after a re-run to beat Taiwo Ogunjobi who had four votes and  Dominic Iorfa eight votes.

The first round of the polls saw Pinnick have 25 votes, Taiwo Ogunjobi nine votes and Dominic Iorfa got four votes.

A re-run was necessary because Pinnick did not have two-third of the votes cast the first time.

Pinnick has succeeded Aminu Maigari, who stepped down after a lingering leadership tussle.

His immediate task is to decide on the future of Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi, who does not have a contract even though he handled the Super Eagles in two 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers earlier this month.

Pinnick is also expected to during his four-year term improve the finances of the often cash-strapped NFF.

Nigeria football endured a long-drawn leadership crisis since after the World Cup in Brazil, where Nigeria reached the knockout stage.

Nigeria FA vote was not without its incident after electoral committee chairman Samson Ebomhe was arrested and later released by men believed to be from the state security service.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: