Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Jul 21st, 2020

PDP, APC, APM chairmen, others emerge new IPAC leadership in Enugu

Share This

By Ikechukwu Okaforadi

The Inter-Party Advisory Council (IPAC), Enugu State chapter has elected new members of its executive, including chairmen of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), All Progressive Congress (APC) and Allied Peoples Movement (APM).
The election became necessary following the deregistration of over 70 political parties by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).
Addressing journalists on Monday after the exercise, the new chairman of the IPAC in the State, Barr. Ken Ike, of the Allied Peoples Movement said the election was without any form of rancour.
He said, “It was a directive of the national leadership of IPAC to streamline elective positions in the organization after the deregistration of 74 political parties by the INEC on the 6th of February, 2020.
“There was need to fill the gap created by the deregistration. So, IPAC Enugu State issued notice of this meeting to all the registered political parties.
“Out of the 17 political parties that are operational in Enugu State, 16 participated in the election. It was also monitored by the INEC and relevant security agencies. We were able to harmonize and elect new leadership.”
“This election is an opportunity for every one of us to contribute our quota for the promotion of good governance and democracy in Enugu State.
“Myself and members of my executive will not let the people down in this onerous task,” Ike assured.
He said the exco, which will operate as interim State Management Committee, would function until when a national election will hold sometime between November and December.
Other members of the executive include: Dr. Ben Nwoye, State Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who was elected secretary, Hon. Augustine Nnamani, Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, – Publicity Secretary, Hon. Edwin Alor of the Accord Party – Treasurer, Hon. Stella Chukwuma of the ADC- Organizing and Welfare Secretary, Hon. Nnaemeka Okoh of the AAC- Financial Secretary and Hon. Elvis Ugwuoke of the ZLP – Youth Policy Adviser.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: