Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Fri, Jul 25th, 2014

Oyo Assembly denies serving Ajimobi impeachment notice

Share This

Officials of both the executive and legislative arms of Oyo state government have denied that the State Assembly has served an impeachment notice on Governor Abiola Ajimobi.

There have been several postings online stating that about 24 of the 32 members of the Assembly have signed the impeachment notice against the governor.

The report also said 10 of the lawmakers were members of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC and that the Assembly’s mace was missing.

However, the Clerk of the Assembly, Paul Bankole, recently said the reports were false.

“I am in my office right now, and the members have all gone on recess until August 28,” he said.

Also, the spokesperson of the Governor, Festus Adedayo, said the governor had not received any impeachment notice.

“The governor has not received any communication of this nature from the legislative arm,” he said. “All is well between the lawmakers and the governor and there’s no trouble in Oyo state. The APC lawmakers are intact behind the governor.”

A member of the Assembly, Murphy Adigun-Ahmed, had on Sunday also told the News Agency of Nigeria, NAN that the House had no plan to impeach the state governor.

Mr. Adigun-Hamed said the clarification was necessary to correct the impression making the rounds that the Assembly was planning to impeach the governor.

The lawmaker, said the Assembly was rather focusing on its constitutional mandate of making laws to develop the state.

“We should be talking about moving the state forward; some people are just focusing on dragging us backward,” Mr. Adigun-Ahmed said. “APC has 18 out of 32 members, so how possible is it for them to impeach our governor, we know where this is coming from.”

A newspaper, had reported on Sunday that some lawmakers in the state were holding discreet meetings to perfect an impeachment plan against Mr. Ajimobi, whose tenure ends next May but is constitutionally eligible to stand for re-election.

The governor’s party, the APC, has 18 of the 32 members in the Assembly with the opposition Peoples Democratic Party [PDP] having nine and the Accord Party 5.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: