Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Sun, Aug 10th, 2014

Osun: INEC declares Aregbesola winner

Share This

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Rauf Aregbesola, as winner of the governorship election held on Saturday in Osun State.

Aregbesola polled a total of 203,090 votes, winning the highest number of votes in 22 of the 30 Local Government Areas of the State, defeating his closest challenger, Iyiola Omisore of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 120,433. Omisore won in eight local government areas.

Candidate of the Labour Party (LP), Fatai Akinbade, got 18,135 votes to come a distant third.

“Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scoring the highest numbers of votes, Rauf Aregbesola of the All Progressives Congress is therefore returned elected,” the Chief Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Professor Bamidele Omole, said.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: