Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Sun, Aug 10th, 2014

Osun election: President Jonathan Congratulates Aregbesola

Share This

Osun election: President Jonathan Congratulates Aregbesola


President Jonathan has congratulated the winner of the Osun state governorship election held on Saturday, Governor Rauf Aregbesola on his victory.

The President also commended the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and National Security Agencies (NSA) for ensuring that the elections were free, fair, credible and peaceful in keeping with the avowed commitment of his Administration.

In a press statement signed by the Special Adviser to the president on Media and Publicity, Reuben Abati, the president also commended the OSUN peoples for turning up for the election and maintaining peace.

According to the statement the president believes that the free, fair and peaceful conduct of the elections have fully reaffirmed his administration’s determination to positively reform Nigeria’s electoral processes.

The statement said as Governor Aregbesola prepares to begin a second term in office; President Jonathan looks forward to working with him and other state governors to further improve the living conditions of Nigerians in Osun and other states of the country.

INEC had declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Rauf Aregbesola, as winner of the governorship election held on Saturday in Osun State.

Aregbesola polled a total of 203,090 votes, winning the highest number of votes in 22 of the 30 Local Government Areas of the State, defeating his closest challenger, Iyiola Omisore of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 120,433. Omisore won in eight local government areas.

Candidate of the Labour Party (LP), Fatai Akinbade, got 18,135 votes to come a distant third.

“Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scoring the highest numbers of votes, Rauf Aregbesola of the All Progressives Congress is therefore returned elected,” the Chief Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Professor Bamidele Omole, said.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: