Okagbare leads Nigeria’s 95-man squad for Asaba 2018

Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) have released a list of 95 athletes selected to represent the country at the 21st African Athletics championships taking place in Asaba, Delta State.
Blessing Okagbare-Ighoteguonor leads Team Nigeria. She will be joined by Joy Udo-Gabriel and Mercy Ntia-Obong in the 100m while Idamadudu Praise and Rosemary Chukwuma will compete in the 200m alongside Okagbare.
Divine Oduduru who had cause strings of stirring performance this term in the NCAA is on the list’s AA ranking.
Michael Edwards who has a Personal Best of 2.25m in the men’s High Jump finally gets his opportunity to represent Nigeria having been cleared to make the switch from Great Britain. He was denied representing Nigeria at the Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast.
There are other inclusions in the team like 2018 Commonwealth 100m Hurdles Gold medallist, Oluwatobiloba Amusan who will be competing in her first African Senior Athletics championships.
In the men’s 100m, Seye Ogunlewe alongside his compatriot Enoch Adegoke who ran a Season’s Best of 10.19s in Australia.
Fastest 400m athlete this season, Ajayi Yinka, Patience Okon-George and Egwin Emerald will all represent Nigeria in the Women’s one lap event. Egbeniyi Abike and Bantefa Adeyinka will compete in the 800m.
Bamtefa will double in the women’s 1500m and she will be joined by Comfort James, while University of Oklahoma alumnus Olowora Aminat who had arrived Nigeria and Pam Deborah will compete in the women’s 5000m.
Akusho Rose and Onan Sale will compete in the Women’s 10,000m. Amusan Tobi, Ayemoba Grace and Efe Favour will don the country’s colour in the 100m hurdles as Joy Abu, Nathaniel Glory and Ossai Rita will run the 400m hurdles.
National record holder Olude Fadekemi and Henshaw Queen will compete in the 20km walk.
In the Women’s field events, youngster Isa Esther, Anigbata Grace and Temitope Adesina will compete in the High Jump event as Ese Brume will lead the Long Jump squad which comprises Okonrokwo Precious and Abire Mercy.
In the hop, step and jump event, Commonwealth representative Blessing Ibukun will compete alonsgide Anigbata Grace and Abire Mercy.
In the Shot Put, Nigeria’s representatives will include Chime Nkechi, Ogbukwo Eucharia and Anoliefo Uju. Okoro Chime will lead the Discus women which also includes Princess Kara and Onyekwere Chioma.
National record holder in the Women’s Hammer throw Queen Obisesan, Omizi Sofiat and Ogundire Temilola will compete in the Hammer throw. While our sole representative in the Women’s Javelin is Nwanaga Kelechi.
In the Heptatlon event, Oluwakemi Francis and Idehe Hope will represent Nigeria. In the sprint relays, the team will include Okagbare Blessing, Amusan Tobi, joy Udo-Gabriel, Ntai-Obong, Rosemary Chukwuma and Ogundiran Blessing. While the quatermile relay will comprise Ajayi Yinka, Patience George, Egwim Emerald, Idamadudu Praise, Abugan Folashade and Favour Ofili.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *