Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Dec 9th, 2014

Ogun PDP defies NWC directives, elect Nasir Isiaka

Share This

pdp logoFrom James Ogunnaike, Abeokuta

In spite of the directive from the National Working Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), a faction of the party in Ogun State, led by the South-West Mobilization/Coordinator of the party, Kashamu Buruji  on Monday elected former governorship candidate of the Peoples Party of Nigeria in the 2011 general elections, Gboyega Nasir Isiaka as its standard bearer in the next year’s poll.

The faction contravened the directive from the NWC of the Party that a new date would be announced for the primary election.

However, at the primary of the party held at the State Secretariat of the Party in Abeokuta, Isiaka emerged the Ogun PDP governorship candidate in a primary election boycotted by eight of the party’s aspirants vying for its ticket but held under tight security provided by heavily armed anti-riot policemen, men of the State Security Service and operatives of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps.

Delegates were thoroughly checked by stern-looking security agents who manned the gates to the PDP state secretariat venue of the primary which kicked off at about 2:25pm.

The eight aspirants who boycotted the primary election included Asiwaju Tony Ojesina, Prince Yanju Lipede, Dr. Remilekun Bakare, Alhaji Sarafa Tunji Ishola, Dr. Yomi Majekodunmi, Prof. David Bamgbose, Hon. Isiaq Akinlade, Alhaji Rafiu Ogunleye and former speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole.

Similarly, former president Olusegun Obasanjo and ex-governor Gbenga Daniel who were on the list of delegates for the governorship primary election  also stayed away from the venue.

At the end of the governorship primary monitored by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission, the Ogun PDP standard bearer scored 705 votes to defeat Jelili Kayode Amusan and Omoba Segun Adewale who scored 151 and zero votes, respectively. Over 900 delegates voted in the Ogun PDP governorship primary.

In a statement issued by the party’s National Publicity Secretary, Olisa Metuh on Monday in Abuja announced the cancellation of the Ogun State chapter of the primaries.

In his opening remarks before the commencement of voting, Chairman of Ogun PDP, Bayo Dayo assured that the primary election would produce a credible governorship candidate for the party in the state.

Bayo, who told newsmen earlier that he was not aware of the directives of the PDP NWC cancelling the primary expressed confidence that the party’s standard bearer would defeat the incumbent Governor Ibikunle Amosun in the 2015 governorship election in the state.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: