Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, May 21st, 2018

NUJ: FCTA/FCDA chapel gets new officials

Share This

The FCTA/FCDA Chapel of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), has elected new Executive members to oversee the affairs of the union at the chapel for the next three years.
At the end of the election last Friday, Comrade Sani Tahir emerged the chairman, with Comrade Suwaiba Idris as Vice Chairman while Comrade Emmanuel Tortiv emerged as Secretary.
Others were Comrade Ojebola Farayola who emerged as Assistant Secretary with Comrade Gloria Isah as Treasurer while Comrade Aminu Mohammed emerged as the Internal Auditor.
After administering oath of office on the new executive members of the chapel, the Chairman of the NUJ FCT Council, Comrade Paul Ella charged the chairman of the chapel and his team to start work immediately as there was no time to waste.
He equally implored them to always ensure they uphold and propagate the tenets of journalism, given its critical place in any society.
In his acceptance speech on behalf of the new executives of the chapel, the Chairman, Comrade Sani Tahir thanked all members of the chapel with a call for them to join hands with him to close some of the loopholes affecting the progress of the chapel.
He said his administration will be anchored on three cardinal principles of peace, progress and unity.
He extended a hand of fellowship to some of the aggrieved members of the chapel and tasked them to join his vibrant team to move the chapel forward to a greater height.
Earlier, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Comrade Kayode Adeniyi of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, SWAN, FCT chapter said the mandate to serve as members of the Electoral Committee was given to them by the State Council of the Union based on the outcome of the report of the Ethics and Disciplinary Committee which was adopted by the state congress in January, 2018.
Adeniyi insisted that his committee was out to ‘right the wrongs’ by conducting election that will be adjudged credible, peaceful and fair.
‘‘We are not interested in any candidate, neither are we interested in any parties. Our interest is in the Nigerian Union of Journalists, NUJ and the election has the blessing of both the State Council and National Union,” he stated.
Other members of the Electoral Committee comprised Comrade Blessing David, the Council Treasurer, Comrade Stella Okoh-Esene, State Chairperson of Nigeria Association of Women Journalists, NAWOJ, Comrade Dorcas Jonah as the Committee’s Secretary.
Our correspondent gathered that the committee’s assignment started on April 15, 2018 when it was inaugurated by the State Executive Council.
To this end, Chairman of the Electoral Committee tendered apologies to members for the shift in the earlier scheduled date of the election, saying it was based on a decision of the Council since they were not an Independent Election Committee.
He however blamed the shift on an Advanced Court Summon by a former member of the Chapel seeking relief against his suspension which he said his Committee was not a part of.
Furthermore, he stressed that those who emerged as Leaders of the Chapel had the blessing of the President of the Union, Comrade Abdulwaheed Odusile, National Secretary, Comrade Shuaibu Liman and the State Council under the Chairmanship of Comrade Paul Ella Abechi.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: