Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Jan 15th, 2020

NILDS restructures key leadership positions

Share This

By Ikechukwu Okaforadi

The National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies (NILDS) has reorganized the institute’s key designations to improve and further align set targets and operations.
A statement issued by the Information Manager of NILDS, Joke Akinsanmi, said the change will better position the institute to achieve its overall goals, while also providing the continuity of strong leadership across all units, divisions and departments.
It said the announcement was made after approval was granted by the Chairman of NILDS Governing Council and President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, during the inaugural meeting of the Council.
It said Lawan had commended the efforts of the Director General, who he said, within seven months of assuming office, has shown dexterity in repositioning the flagship legislative capacity building Institute in Africa for greater exploits.
“While the Leadership is a lot focused on staff welfare and productivity, the Senate President further said that expansion of the departments of the Institute from four to nine is a necessary part of ensuring for the longer term that NILDS can continue to prosper and yield high quality outputs.
“This marks the formation of our operational leadership team and a reorganization that will position NILDS for continued success. These changes represent a significant step toward streamlining our operations in a way that will greatly enhance our ability to maximize productivity and minimize redundancy.
“This new structure will enable us to allocate resources and personnel expediently” the statement quoted the Director General, Prof. Abubakar O. Sulaiman, to have said.
It pointed out that following approval of a new organogram by the Institute’s Governing Council, NILDS is implementing a more integrated structure that will increase operational efficiency.
Meanwhile, the move has brought the total number of departments to nine, including:
Department of Administration and Human Resources, Department of Finance and Accounts, Department of Training and International Cooperation.
Others are: Department of Democratic Studies, Department of Legislative Support Services, Department of Economic Development and Social Studies, Department of Library, Department of Postgraduate Services, Department of Internal Audit.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: