Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Oct 2nd, 2018

Niger Gov emerges APC flag bearer with 150,839 votes, as Nasko picks PDP flag

Share This

From Yakubu Mustapha, Minna

The Niger State Governor Abubakar Sani Bello has been officially announced by the Chairman 2018 governorship primary in Niger state with a total vote of 150,839 to become the APC flag bearer for 2019 election.
The Chairman of the committee, Mr Lucky Imasuen said that the governor was the sole candidate as party faithful came out in their numbers to cast their vote in all the units of the state.
Imasuen, therefore, declared the incumbent Governor, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello, as returned unopposed; and expressed satisfaction over the peaceful and responsible manner the party members conducted themselves during the primary.
He explained that materials were provided at each of the units, as slated by the party, hence they did not encounter any challenge in the course of the whole processes.
Equally, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had conducted its gubernatorial primary election in the state.
Intesretingly, however, like what happened in 2015 the PDP in Niger State has ended its governorship primary in Minna, the state capital, with Alhaji Umar Mohammed Nasko emerging as the party flag bearer for the 2019 governorship election.
Announcing the resulting at the party secretariat, where the primary election was conducted at the weekend, the Returning Officer Dr Baraka Sani, Chairman of congress committee, announced the highest votes for Umar Nasko, with a total votes of 1,972 to beat his closest rivalry Ambassador Ahmed Musa Ibeto.
According to him, other four contestants in the race include Ambassador Ahmed Musa Ibeto, who scored 516 votes and came second. Ibeto resigned recently as Nigerian Ambassador to South Africa.
Others are: Engr Muazu Hannafi Sudan with 157 votes, at third position; Alhaji Aminu Mohammed Baka, who also scores 110 votes, emerging fourth; and Hon. Ahmed Umar who scored 24 votes to emerge last.
The winner was the party candidate during 2015 general elections but was defeated by the incumbent Governor Abubakar Sani Bello.
Nasko was a Chief of Staff to former governor Muazu Babangida Aliyu, and also served as commissioner of Works and Environment, Forestry and Parks under same immediate past administration.
The Returning Officer noted that a total of 2,774 votes casted, and only two voteas were recorded invalid votes during the primary.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: