Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Sep 8th, 2014

Niger Bye-Election: PDP wins as APC rejects result

Share This

APC-vs-PDPFrom Yakubu Mustapha, Minna

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Dr Shem Nuhu Zagbayi has won the Niger east bye-election in the final vote collated and announced Saturday night at the state College of Education Minna.

Meanwhile, the Niger state All Progressives Congress (APC) has rejected the result of the bye-election yesterday which gave victory to the candidate of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The candidate scored 92,056 votes while the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, David Umaru scored 87, 405 votes. The All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate, Isah Bello got 2,185 and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate, Abdullahi Shuaibu Dikko  got 491 votes.

The result announced by the Returning Officer, Professor Morenikeji O Oluwole showed that there were 182, 137 valid votes cast and 8,042 invalid votes making up the total of 190,179 votes.

He disclosed that there were 949,851 registered voters but only 205, 765 voters accredited for the election, an indication that less than 25 registered voters of the Niger east came out to votes.

Meanwhile Governor of Niger state, Dr. Muazu Babamgida Aliyu has dedicated the victory of the PDP in the Niger East Senatorial by-election to the people of Niger state.

Aliyu who made this known in a state broadcast yesterday in Minna said victory of Dr. Nuhu Zagbayi over the APC candidate, Barrister David Umaru is a reflection of the confidence the people have in the party.

He expressed satisfaction over the conduct and outcome of the election stating that despite the use of thugs, a level playing ground was the major characteristic of the entire process.

“Let me thank you for your abiding faith in our party and for coming out to exercise your civic duty and responsibility even in the face of unwarranted provocation and intimidation by some members of the opposition party who mistook elite sentiments and sympathy for mass support.

Electoral victories are not won by violent intimidation of the electorates but by record of performance and effective mobilization of voters on the polling day.”

Publicity Secretary of the APC, Mr. Jonathan Vatsa in a reaction in Minna said that the result announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the early hours of Sundaywas “unacceptable” to the party.

He intimated that the party is currently studying the result and will make its position known, but “for now the result is unacceptable”.

“Though the party is yet to take a decision on the outcome of the by-election, all I know for sure is that the result announced by INEC is not acceptable and in due course the official position of the party will be announced.

“The next line of action on the bye-election will be taken after consultations at the state level. We are also in touch with the national headquarters of the party and our position will be made known”.

The spokesman of APC wondered on the moral right of the state governor, Dr. Mu’azu Babangida Aliyu to have said that the victory for PDP was a reflection of the confidence the people have in the party when he knew that the conduct of the election contravened the Electoral Act.

“It is a known fact that the outcome of the bye-election was a total rigging between PDP and INEC. It took a party that has been in power for over 15 years to use money to induce, use fake security agents to intimidate and INEC to doctor the results to “win”  a bye-election.

“It is sad that our governor who presides over failed 10 kilometre road project in each of the 25 local government areas of the state and many other failed or over inflated but not executed projects could say that the party (PDP) enjoys acceptability.

“The governor has no moral right to speak because he lost the last by-election in his unit, ward and local government. In fact, the governor has never won any election in his local government, ward and unit”.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: