Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Jan 24th, 2018

Niger Assembly at loggerhead with state APC executive

Share This

From Yakubu Mustapha, Minna

The Niger State House of Assembly members and the leadership of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the state are at loggerhead over the decision of the party requesting for the removal of house majority leader.
The face-off between the legislators and the party arose from the request by the party leadership to ask for the removal of the majority leader of the house, Alhaji Nura Garba and his replacement with Alhaji Isah Dandodo Ibrahim.
The state house of assembly was composed of 27 lawmakers, 25 of them elected on the platform of the APC.
The letter, in which the APC made the request, was signed by the state Chairman Mohammed Jibril Imam and was read at plenary yesterday.
All the legislators were unhappy with the request of their party, describing it as “undue interference” in their affairs that must not be accepted.
The legislators, in throwing out the letter, cited some sections of the house standing rules which prescribed that principal officers of the assembly should be elected by the legislators themselves.
Executive members of the party led by the state secretary Alhaji Mohammed Liman who were at the assembly were disappointed by the decision and left with long faces.
The party secretary declined to speak to newsmen after walking out of the assembly saying: “Go and ask them anything you want to hear.”
Meanwhile, the executive arm of government, also in a memo to the assembly, yesterday dropped one of the four remaining nominees for commissioners positions, Mr. John Sabo Koce, and replaced him with Mr. Duza Emmanuel Babur.
The governor represented the list containing Alhaji Danjuma Salau from Munya LG, Isah Kanko, Wushishi LG and Kabiru Abbas Musa Mariga to the assembly for its consideration and confirmation.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: