Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Sun, Sep 21st, 2014

NFF defies court order, sets election for Sept 30

Share This

Nff_logoBy Albert Akota

Despite a Federal High Court order restraining the leadership of the Nigeria Football Federation from holding its planned extra-ordinary congress, the Aminu Maigari-led board went ahead and took major decisions.

Justice AL Allagoa of the Federal High Court sitting in Jos, Plateau State, had on weekend, granted the prayers of Yahaya Adama and Obinna Ogba (Plaintiffs) and ordered that the NFF should not go ahead with the congress pending the hearing of the motion on notice.

The Judge subsequently adjourned hearing of the suit till October 8, 2014.

Rising from the congress on Saturday in Warri, Delta State, the General Assembly announced the composition of new Electoral Committee and Appeals Committee ahead of the election into the Executive Committee slated for September 30, 2014.

The eight-point communique issued at the end of the congress and signed by E.C. Chukwuemeka, chairman, communique drafting committee reads:

The General assembly expressed deep and heartfelt appreciation of the entire Nigeria Football family to the President and Commander-In-Chief of the Federal Republic, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR for his personal and administration’s love and tremendous support for the NFF, the National Teams and Nigeria Football as a whole.

Ahead of the upcoming elections into the NFF Executive Committee, Congress composed a new NFF Electoral Committee thus:  Barr. Samson Ebomhe; Barr. M. T. Ahmed; Mr. Adamu Sani Usman; Mr. Sadiq Yusuf Zaria; Reverend  Onyeaghala Obioma; Engineer Adeola Adelanwa; Alh. Sani Dahiru Yakassai; Mrs. Sarah Jumoke Adebisi and Barr. Awwal Mohammed.  The Secretary is Barr. Musa Amadu.

Ahead of the upcoming elections into the NFF Executive Committee, Congress composed a new NFF Electoral Appeals Committee thus:  Barr. Okey Ajunwa; Mr. Dotun Coker and; Mallam Sani Mohammed.  Mr. Victor Nwangwu and Mr. Bala Garba are substitute Members.  The Secretary is Dr. Mohammed Sanusi.

The General Assembly unanimously approved Tuesday, 30th September, 2014 as date for the 2014 NFF Elective Congress, and Warri, Delta State as venue. The Congress passed a resolution that a credible and transparent electoral process is non-negotiable.

The Congress unanimously affirmed the FIFA directive that the 2014 Elective Congress shall be composed of only delegates that attended the November 2013 Annual General Assembly in Warri.

Congress unanimously expressed high praise and admiration for the courage and resilience of the NFF Executive Committee led by Alhaji Aminu Maigari, in the face of the recent crisis that threatened the fabric of Nigeria Football .

Congress heaped encomiums in the Nigeria Media for standing by the truth and clearly supporting what is just in the thick of the recent crisis.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: