Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Oct 17th, 2019

NCWS to honour female Ministers, legislators

Share This

By Stanley Onyekwere

National Council of Women Societies (NCWS), has said that plans have been concluded to honour female minister appointed by President Muhammadu Bahari, and female national assembly legislators to serve as torch bearers for other female politicians across the country.
Our correspondent gathered that the ministers to be honoured include Minister of State for FCT, Dr. Rahmatu Tijjani Aliyu, Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management, Hajia Sadiya Umar-Farouk, and Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment, Hajiya Maryam Katagun.
In a press statement issued in Abuja by the Chairman Media Sub-committee, Dr. Jumai Ahmadu, and made available to newsmen said the President of NCWS, Dr. Gloria Laraba Shoda, has approved October 24, 2019, as the date to honour 7 female Ministers, 6 female Senators and 22 female House of Rpresentatives.
The statement also revealed that resource persons have been invited to speak on the theme: “Mentorship; A Panacea for Capacity Building of Women In Politics and Governance”, at the International Conference Center (ICC) Abuja.
The statement reads in parts: “Though, the number of women in politics and governance both at the state and national level in this dispensation falls short of our expectation, but we are determine to encourage our fellow women who are either elected or appointed to serve as torch bearers to others.
“It is our sincere hope that the award will spur them to a greater height and work assiduously to change the narrative in the next political dispensation.”
It adds: “Minister of State for Transport, Senator Gbemisola Saraki, Minister of State for Environment, Sharon Ikeazu, Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Hajiya Zainab Ahmed and Minister of Women Affairs and Social Development, Dame Pauline Tallen.
The six female Senators elected are Stella Oduah and Uche Ekwunife who both represent Anambra, Monsurat Sunmonu from Oyo state, Fatimat Raji Rasaki, Oluremi Tinubu and Binta Garba. Dr. Jumai Ahmadu Chairman, Media Sub-committee.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: