Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Sun, Dec 7th, 2014

NASS Primaries: Adokwe, Nasarawa Speaker emerge victorious

Share This

From Gambo Ahmed, Lafia

Senator representing Nasarawa South senatorial district, Senator Suleiman Asonya Adokwe, yesterday emerged the PDP flag bearer at the just concluded Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) primaries held at the party’s secretariat in Lafia, the state capital.

This is even as the Speaker of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Musa Ahmed Mohammed clinched the party’s ticket for the Nasarawa/Toto Federal Constituency.

 The Senator defeated Bala Zakari with 163-46 votes and emerged winner of the primaries.

 Declaring the result shortly after casting of votes, Chairman of the electoral committee, Augustine Agube, said: “Having secured the highest number of votes and scored 163 ,Suleiman Adokwe,   is hereby declared the winner of the primaries’’

Meanwhile, Alh Umar Gomna, returning officer for Awe/Doma/Keana Federal Constituency declared a serving reps member, Hon. Ogoshi Onawo, who polled 60 votes as the winner of the primaries.

 Onawo defeated three other contestants to pick the ticket who include:  Arc. Godwin Ashikeni, one vote, Alh. Idris Gani, 30 votes and Alh Adamu Aboki 29 votes.

Speaker Ahmed Mohammed polled 81 votes to defeat other three aspirants, Ogbere Joseph, Adams Nyisana and Mohammed Garba Isinbi , with 3,10 and 5 votes respectively.

 Also in Keffi/Karu/Kokona Federal Constituency, Gaza Gbefwi polled 93 to defeat Nuhu Sabo and two others, Angama Weibey ,Victor Peter, withdrew  at the late hour, while Ngargbu Kosto also lost.

 As at the time of filing this report, voting in Nasarawa North senatorial primaries had not commenced, while that of Nasarawa West was yet to be announced.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: