Nasarawa INEC exempts 42 polling units from distribution of voters’ cards

From Gambo Ahmed, Lafia.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)in Nasarawa State yesterday said that it will exempt about 42 polling units in the forthcoming distribution of the Permanent Voters Card (PVC)as well as carrying out the Continuous Voters Registration (CVR), in the areas that were ravaged by the recent communal clashes crisis in the state.

The Resident Electoral Commission (REC), Alhaji Ahmed Makama made the revelation at a stakeholders meeting held at the state’s headquarters of the commission in Lafia, the state capital.

According to Makama, the areas have been deserted due to the persistent communal clashes, saying that 19 polling units have been designated, 15 in Toto, three in Awe and one in Keana local government areas for fresh conduct of voters registration due to some irregularities discovered in the last exercise.

He, however, maintained that distribution of permanent voters registration cards across the state would commence between November 7-9, 2014, while the continuing voter’s registration would take place between November 13-17, 2015.

He stated that INEC in the state would not deploy its staff nor ad-hoc staff to trouble areas in the state in order to prevent their being attacked.

Makama appealed to all stakeholders, particular leaders of political parties in the state to sensitize their subjects on the need to come out en-mass to collect their permanent voters card and the continuing voters registration exercise.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *