Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Dec 18th, 2017

NAPS elects new exco

Share This

From Ahmed Kaigama Bauchi

The National Association of Polytechnic Students (NAPS) has elected a new national executives that will pilot the affairs of the union for the next three years.
The election of the new officers was conducted at the 2017 convention of NAPS held at the Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi at the weekend.
Prince Mohammed Sani Hassan from Abubakar Tatari Ali Polytechnic (ATAP) , Bauchi got a total 83votes to emerged as the new president of NAPS, beating his opponent Comrade James Peter from the Federal Polytechnic, Oghara, Delta state who got 17 votes while 4 votes were invalid.
Other executives are Zakari Hashimu ((Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi) Secretary General, Abdulahi Nasiru, (Federal Poytechnic Nasarawa (Senate President)Ado Zakari (Jigawa State Polytechnic) PRO and Abdullahi K. Abubakar (Ramat Polytechnic) Financial Secretary.
Chairman of the Convention, Comrade Collins Ozele, said a total of 106 delegates drawn from Polytechnic and Monotechnics across the country, attended the convention.
Ozele, from the Federal Polytechnic, Bida, Niger State, thanked the delegates for the decorum and maturity exhibited throughout the convention.
He described the election as one of the freest and fairest in the history of the union an thanked delegates for their good behaviour and support which led to a smooth conduct of the elections.
Speaking with newsmen shortly after his election, the newly elected NAPS President said: “I feel elected. I thank God because of the confidence repose in me by the students because they believe that by the grace of God I will stand for their rights because we know that Polytechnic students are facing numerous challenges in Nigeria.
Comrade Hassan said he would ensure that agreements signed between unions and the government are honoured to put an end to incessant strikes that have affected the polytechnic education in the country.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: