Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Dec 1st, 2014

Musa, Enyeama on CAF final list

Share This

CSKA Moscow forward Ahmed Musa and his Super Eagles teammate from Lille of France, Vincent Enyeama have made the final shortlist of five players to fight for the prestigious Africa Footballer of the Year award.

However, for the Nigeria duo to pick up the award they will have to fend off competition from reigning Africa Player of the Year and Manchester City star man Yaya Toure of the Ivory Coast and two others.

The two are Ghana’s and Al-Ain forward Asamoah Gyan, and Borrussia Dortmund and Gabon’s Pierre Emerick Aubemeyang.

In the past four Nigerians have won it, but the last time a Nigerian won this specific award was in 1999 by Kanu Nwankwo.

The final five, drawn from an initial 25 man list named by CAF in November, will further be reduced to three at the award ceremony schedule to take place in Lagos on the 8 January 2014.

On the other hand Ejike Uzoenyi’s hopes of picking up the best player based in Africa award was dashed as he missed out on the shortlist of five.

The CHAN MVP was missing in a five man list headlined by late South Africa captain and goalkeeper Senzo Meyiwa.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: