Published On: Fri, Jun 21st, 2019

Minority PDP members sidetrack APC’s, elect new Bauchi Speaker

Share This

From Ahmad Mohammed, Bauchi

A short and dramatic session today unfolded at the Bauchi State House of Assembly when 11 members out of 31 elected Suleiman AbubakarDangaldiman Ningi of the All Progressive Congress APC as a new speaker.
Those who elected the new speaker included the 9 members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party PDP and one member of New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP.
The members who began their session at about 6am effectively sidetracked 20 other members of the opposition APC who constitute the majority.
Based on the House rules and standing order the House only needed 11 members to form a quorum and take a decision on any matter.
The 11 members elected Suleiman of the APC from Ningiconstituency as the new speaker before the arrival of the rest of his 20 APCcolleagues.
Upon storming the Chamber, at about 7:57, the newly elected speaker Abubakar Suleiman adjourned sitting till further notice.
This Cause a commotion in the chamber forcing security agentsused teargas to disperse thelegislators.
The early morning sitting was conducted under full securitycover by men of the Nigeria Police Force, Nigeria Security and Civil DefenceCorps and State Security Service (SSS).
In a related development the 19 aggrieved members of theAssembly had also elected Kawuwa Shehu Damina as their Speaker after the adjourned sitting of the House by the newly elected Speaker .
Their actions caused confusion and uproar in the metropolis.
The APC had earlierexpressed its displeasure on the adjournment of the inauguration of the 9th State House of Assembly by Governor Bala Mohammed which was earlier slated forMonday 17th june to today Thursday 20th June 2019.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>