Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Sep 16th, 2014

Minister charges HFN board members to promote handball

Share This

By Albert Akota

The Minister of sports and chairman of the National Sports Commission (NSC) Dr. Tammy Danagogo has charged the new board members of the Handball Federation of Nigeria (HFN) to operate open policy and work together for the interest of the game in Nigeria.

The minister who disclosed this yesterday in Abuja during inauguration ceremony of the HFN board members, said that rivalry among key stakeholders are the major disgruntle element in sports that must be strictly  discourage in the sectors.

“Rivalry is the major element that is killing our sports, egoism is another factor, these are some of the factor our sports are facing today that must be discourage among ourselves.

“Most of these problems among top sports management hinder sponsors, government putting in money also corporate bodies to come to their aide because nobody can invest where there no peace among management.

“I want you (HFN board members) to work together and operate open policy for the interest of the game in order to attract sponsors because government can’t do it alone.

“I want you to fast track handball programme to enable NSC come in to support all your activities for the development of the game and make Nigeria proud at international competitions,” Danagogo promised.

He further called on other sporting sectors to emulate HFN for it doggedness ability to resolve the misunderstanding among themselves that hindered the game for one years as well as withdrawing the pending case in court.

 Meanwhile, the president of the HFN, Alhaji Yusuf Dauda promised to work assiduously for the interest of the game and operate open policy among its members.

He lauded the veterans who have been promoting the game and implored stakeholders to join HFN to take the game to enviable height.

The members were, Yusuf Dauda president, Kwasi Thompson vice president, Hamza Musa, Sam Ocheho, Mark Jacob, Amarachi Comfort, Oluwafunke Kanjuni, Zana Gadzama, Emmanuel Shekwolo, Oluwatoyin Aluko members and Elijah Ameh as secretary.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: