Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Sep 27th, 2017

Mikel, Moses, top Rohr’s list ahead of Zambia clash

Share This

By Amaechi Agbo

Super Eagles captain, John Mikel Obi, Victor Moses and Alex Iwobi are among the high profile players coach Gernot Rohr has shortlisted for the all-important Russian 2107 World Cup qualifier against Zambia on October 7.
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) announced the 23-man squad yesterday. The match which will hold at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo, will see the Eagles tackle the Chipolopolo of Zambia in a match that will potentially decide who clichés the ticket for the 2018 World Cup Mundial.
A win for the Super Eagles will hand Gernot Rohr’s men a place in Russia 2018 with a game at hand.
Tianjin TEDA’s John Obi Mikel, Chelsea’s Victor Moses and Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi made the list which included a number of high-profile stars playing in Europe plus two Nigeria Professional Football League players.
The squad also included Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi, with Hapoel Be’er Sheva’s Anthony Nwakaeme, Hull City’s Ola Aina and Plateau United’s Dele Ajiboye getting a chance to earn their first international cap.
Notable omissions in the list were Eagles defender, Kenneth Omeruo and goal tender, Dele Alampasu
All invited players are to report in Uyo on Monday, 2nd October 2017.
The Full List
Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ayodele Ajiboye (Plateau United FC)
Defenders: William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Elderson Echiejile (Sivasspor FC, Turkey); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England)
Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)
STANDBY: Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Afeez Aremu (Akwa United); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United)

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: