Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Jun 4th, 2018
SPORT | By new

Mikel, Aina dropped as Rohr release 23-man Eagles WC squad

Share This

By Amaechi Agbo

Super Eagles head coach, Gernot Rohr yesterday released the official 23-man Super Eagles squad for next week’s World Cup showpiece in Russia with FC of Poto midfielder and Chelsea FC of England defender, Mikel Agu and Ola Aina, respectively, on standby.
The two players travelled with the team to Austria ahead of Eagles last World Cup warm up match against Czech Republic on Monday and final camping before they travel to Russia ahead of their first match in Group D against Croatia on Saturday next week.
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) announced the final squad through its Twitter account on Sunday.
Arsenal midfielder, Alex Iwobi was named in the Nigeria’s 23-man squad for the World Cup in Russia. The 21-year-old scored in the 2-1 friendly defeat by England at Wembley on Saturday.Chelsea right-back winger, Victor Moses and Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa were included in Gernot Rohr’s squad.
New Brighton signing, Leon Balogun features, and former Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel will captain the side.
Crotone striker Simeon Nwankwo, who only made his international debut in the 1-1 draw with DR Congo on Monday, was also selected.
The Super Eagles have not made it beyond the last 16 in five appearances at the World Cup.
The tournament starts on 14 June, with Nigeria drawn with Argentina, Iceland and Croatia in Group D.
Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi, who has been a major injury concern, made the final cut, while Russia-based defender Brian Idowu and FC Crotone striker, Simeon Nwankwo are the two players who are yet to make an official debut for the team.
The Super Eagles who lost 2-1 to England on Saturday at Wembley, flew out of London yesterday at about 10am local time to Austria before they will head out to Russia for the World Cup on June 11.
Nigeria who are making her sixth appearance in the quadrennial event having made her debut in 1994, will open her 2018 World Cup campaign with a match against 1998 semifinalist, Croatia at Kaliningrad Stadium, next week Saturday by 8pm Nigerian time.
Super Eagles 23-man squad:
Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United/RSA), Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna/ESP)
Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Shehu Abdullahi (Bursaspor/TUR), Leon Balogun (Brighton Hove Albion/ENG), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea/ENG), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm/RUS), Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto/POR), Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge/BEL), Tyronne Ebuehi (Benfica/POR)
Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Tianjin Teda/CHN), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor/TUR), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva/ISR), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City/ENG),Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense/POR), Joel Obi (Torino FC/ITA)
Forwards: Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai/CHN), Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho(leicester City/ENG), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal/ENG), Simeon Nwankwo (FC Crotone/ITA), Victor Moses (Chelsea/ENG)

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: