Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Apr 14th, 2020

Lockdown: Omo-Agege doles out N85m to constituents

Share This

By Musa Adamu

As part of measures to cushion the effects of the lockdown due to the ravaging Coronavirus pandemic, the Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, has commenced the immediate disbursement of cash to some low income persons across the eight Local Government Areas that make up Delta Central Senatorial District.
A statement issued by his Special Advicer on Media, Yomi Awoniyi, said the eight local government areas in the senatorial district include: Ethiope East, Ethiope West, Okpe, Sapele, Ughelli North, Ughelli South, Udu and Uvwie.
It said the exercise, which commenced in Kokori Inland in Ethiope East LGA, witnessed the handing over of the cash palliative to individuals in their homes without discrimination.
According to the Head of the Committee set up to coordinate the disbursement, Hon. Innocent Emosivwe Anidi, a total of two hundred (200) households from each Ward in the Senatorial District will receive the sum of Five Thousand Naira (N5000) per household.
There are Eighty-Five (85) Wards in the eight Local Government Areas that make up Delta-Central.
This translates to Seventeen Thousand (17,000) households in the Senatorial Zone.
In a brief message to the Constituents, Senator Omo-Agege appealed to the people not to trivialise the Coronavirus disease, urging them to always obey government’s orders on measures aimed at containing the spread of the deadly virus.
He said the cash disbursement has been designed to reach the people directly and not through proxies.
He equally called on the people to continue supporting and praying for the President Muhammadu Buhari administration in its effort to take Nigeria to the Next Level of development even as the nation battles to stop the spread of the pandemic which has ravaged several other nations globally.
Other members of the team include Hon. Ogbajini Felix, Comrade Progress Omo-Agege, Barr. Omonade Matthew, Eric Okunima, Hon. John Oghojafor, Akpofure Umukoro, amongst others.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: