Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, Apr 11th, 2018

LG polls: Nasarawa Assembly speaker denies snatching ballot box

Share This

From Gambo Ahmed, Lafia

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly Speaker, Alhaji Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi, has denied in totality the rumour making round in the state that he had snatched ballot box during the chairmanship primary election of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Toto local government area of the state.
Balarabe expressed shock on the issue, while fielding question from Journalists in Lafia the state capital yesterday, describing the allegation as false and baseless and created by his enemies who do not wish him well in his political carrier.
According to him, “Honourable Nuhu Dauda, one of the chairmanship aspirant was leading and his opponent were no longer comfortable and resolved in throwing stones and other dangerous weapons to all categories of people who were present at the venue.
His words “Journalists, you may wish to go further investigations and I assure you that you will find my statement to be truth “As a number third citizen of Nasarawa state, how will I snatched ballot box meant for election where is there are adequate security on ground.
“The election was going on smoothly before some people went and mobilized their thugs to disrupt the process which is unfortunate and a threat to our electoral process. What I always preach is free, fair and credible election. Let the electorates, the delegates decide who will be their local government chairman”. He maintained.
He added that delegate from his Umaisha/Ugya constituency can justify what really occurred adding that there was not any need for him to snatch ballot paper before winning election.
The Speaker used the medium to restate the assembly commitment to continue to enact laws for good governance in the state; adding that the APC chairmanship primary election in Toto local government area of the state was disrupted by unknown youths.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: