Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Jan 12th, 2015

Lawmaker, over 6000 PDP members defect to APC in Katsina

Share This

APC-vs-PDPFrom Lawal Sa’idu Funtua, Katsina

No fewer than 7,000 members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Sandamu local government Area in Katsina State have defected to the All Progressive Congress (APC).

The decampees, led by Sale Magaji, serving member of Katsina state House of Assembly, were received over the weekend by the APC gubernatorial candidate, Alhaji Aminu Bello Masari.

Masari who was on a campaign tour to the area, said that the decampees made the right decision assuring them that they will be given fair treatment by the party.

He described the PDP as “a sinking ship which lost focus and failed to satisfy the yearning of Nigerians “.

According to him, the ruling party “has now become like a victim of Ebola from who everybody tries to maintain a long distance”, calling on the few people left in the party to borrow a leaf from the Sandamu decampees.

The former Speaker of the House of Representatives alleged that the PDP was as good as dead in the state, and that the little that is left of it would be laid to final rest on February 14, this year.

He added that the APC, whose Presidential candidate, General Muhammadu Buhari was universally acknowledged as the only one capable of turning around the fortunes of the country within a short time, was the party that is in tune with the people and their needs, and is determined to meet them.

Earlier Leader of the decampees, Sale Magaji said they dumped the PDP because of its “mission to destroy Nigeria”.

Notable decampees include, Alhaji Nasir Ibrahim Kwasarawa, former Chairman of Sandamu local government council, Alhaji Magaji Maigoro, former PDP Chairman of Sandamu and Alhaji Yusuf Jarkuka, former Sandamu local government secretary.

Others include Malam Zubairu Rijiyar Tsamiya and Alhaji Mamman Tela Sandamu as well as six former councillors and ten former special Assistants from Sandamu local government.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: