Kogi Assembly extends tenure Of LG administrators

From Ahmad Ibrahim, Lokoja

Kogi State House of Assembly yesterday granted approval for six-month extension of tenure of the 21 local government administrators in the state.
The House gave the approval at plenary following the adoption of a letter from the executive arm of the state government signed by Governor Yahaya Bello.
In the letter dated March 28, which was read on the floor of the House by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Matthew Kolawole, the governor said he was constrained by paucity of funds to make the request.
He pointed out that the current tenure of administrators as extended twice so far by the House in line with the applicable laws and particularly the Kogi State Local Government (Amendment) Law, 2008, expired on March 31st, this year.
“The Kogi State Government considers elections the preferred option to fill these positions but the stark reality is that the Administration remains constrained by paucity of funds and ancillary challenges from holding local government elections at this time,” he added.
The governor further stressed that “It is therefore incumbent on the Kogi State House of Assembly to keep our local government administration within the purview of the law by formally extending the tenure of the 21 Local Government Transition Committees in Kogi State.”
He, therefore, requested the house to, in accordance and in line with Part VIII, Section 56(3) of the state Local Government (Amendment) Law, 2008, grant the extension from April 1, to September, 30th, this year.
The governor commended the speaker and members of the House for their partnership with his administration in ensuring the progress of the state.
The Majority Leader of the House, Bello Hassan Balogun (APC-Ajaokuta), urged members to support and approve the request in view of the precarious financial situation of the state.
The Speaker, in his ruling, granted the request, following majority voice votes from members at plenary.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *