Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Wed, May 16th, 2018

Kano Speaker’s impeachment imminent, as 2 principal officers removed

Share This

From Mustapha Adamu, Kano

The impeachment of the Speaker of Kano State House of Assembly, Yusuf Abdullahi Attah, may happen sooner than later, as 24 members of the State Assembly have signed for his removal.
At the time of filing this report, the number of signatories had increased from 21 to 24, needing only 3 more signatures to remove the speaker.
This came as the lawmakers, yesterday, announced the impeachment of Chief Whip of the House, Honorable Labaran Abdul Madari, representing Warawa constituency and the Deputy Majority Leader, Honorable Muhammad Bello Butu-Butu, representing Rimin Gado/Tofa constituency.
The members have already replaced the removed leaders with Honorable Abdullahi Yaryasa, representing Tudunwada constituency and Honorable Ayuba Labaran Durum, representing Kabo constituency, as Chief Whip and Deputy Majority Leader, respectively.
The 24 lawmakers, led by the former Speaker, Kabiru Alhassan Rurum, stormed the assembly complex to announce their decision, despite the fact that the house had gone on recess and they were barred from gaining access to the building by security operatives.
Rurum, who addressed journalists on behalf of the other aggrieved members outside the assembly complex, emphasized that there was no going back in their bid to impeach the speaker; adding, they would continue to work to meet up with the required 2/3 majority needed to accomplish their mission.
He expressed displeasure for being barred from gaining access to the assembly, noting that as law-abiding citizens, they would not be violent; but would go ahead to discharge their constitutional rights.
“As law abiding citizens and the representatives of the people of Kano State, we have gathered here to do what we deemed necessary; to remove the Speaker of the House. You would recall that there were allegations leveled against me, when I was speaker which led to my honorable resignation to enable the House carry out its investigations, which led to the emergence of Yusuf Abdullahi Attah as the new speaker. I personally supported him after I stepped down.
“And recently there have been calls for the impeachment of Atta as the speaker. Thus, we have gathered here today; but as you can see, the assembly complex is barricaded by the Police and men of the Civil Defence Corps.
“To impeach the speaker, we need 27 out of the 40 members of the House of the Assembly to achieve that. So far so good, we have 24 members who have endorsed for the impeachment of the speaker.
“That is below the number needed; but with that number, we can impeach other Principal Officers; and we hereby announce the impeachment of Honorable Labaran Abdul, representing Warawa constituency, as the Chief Whip of the Assembly, as well as Honorable Muhammad Bello Butu-Butu, Deputy Majority Leader.
“We have unanimously agreed that Honorable Abudullahi Iliyasu Riyasa of Tudun Wada, assume the seat of the Chief Whip, while Ayuba Labaran from Kabo, is to act as the new Deputy Majority Whip. Right Honorable Abdulaziz Garba, former speaker is to continue as the Majority Leader, while Honorable Kabiru Dashi Kiru is now the Deputy Majority leader.
“Although we are not in the assembly complex; we are within its premises. As law abiding citizens, we won’t engage the security men. The Speaker Abdullahi Attah came into the assembly last night and took away the Mace, but that wouldn’t stop us from carrying out our statutory duties; as you can see we have provided another Mace.”
The embattled Attah was being accused of incompetence, official high handedness and localizing the activities of the Assembly.
As at the time of filing in this report, the Assembly complex was still being guarded by combat-ready security operatives.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: