Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Mar 3rd, 2014

Jonathan receives defectors to PDP in Kwara

Share This
President Goodluck Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan

From Olanrewaju Lawal, Ilorin

President Goodluck Jonathan, yesterday in Ilorin urged the people of Kwara State to freethemselves politically.

President Jonathan, along with other Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) National

Leaders including National Chairman, Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu said this when he received some decampees from APC and other opposition parties to the PDP.

Addressing the crowd at the metropolitan square, Ilorin on Monday, President Jonathan said PDP is the only true party that is free of dictatorship.

He said as a President, he did not control the Governor of Bayelsa, his home state because the party gave room for freedom and allow governors, Ministers to work without being controlled.

The President who acknowledged the crowd at the reception said his government is working based on the PDP manifesto and Kwara state should expect more dividend of democracy from the federal government .

In his own contribution, the National Chairman of PDP, Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu appealed to the PDP members who had defected to APC in Kwara State to return to the party.

He said they all started their political journey in the ruling party and the door of the party is still open to them.

The Senate President, David Mark, who expressed his “extreme pleasure”over the crowd that welcomed them, said it is anindication that Kwara people wantpolitical freedom.

Both Chairman BoT of the PDP, Tony Anenih and Vice-President, Arc Namdi Sambo urged the people of the state to continue to support the ruling party stressing that it is the only way they can be freepolitically.

The President later introduced all the decampees; Mohammed Dele Belgore, Senator Rukayyat Gbemisola Saraki, Princess Bilikisu Gambari, Akeem Lawal, Rev Bunmi Olusona Abdulrahman Abdulrasak among others to the crowd.

The rally was also attended by governor of Akwa Ibom state governor, Godswill Akpabio, Senator Ibrahim Mantu, Senator Barnabas Gemade and others.


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: