Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Dec 17th, 2019

John Obu resigns as Akwa United coach, cites players’ insubordination

Share This

Coach John Obuh has added to the swelling numbers of Nigeria Professional Football League club handlers who left their clubs in recent times.
Two coaches, Bala Nikiyu formerly with Nasarawa United left the club after irreconcilable differences. Rangers recently parted company with Benedict Uwgu after poor run of forms. And on Monday, former Flying Eagles coach, John Obuh resigned from his position as the coach of Akwa United citing indiscipline and players’ insubordination as his reason for throwing in the towel.
In the aftermath of a disappointing eight match start to the 2019/2020 NPFL season by Akwa Ibom State club, Coach Obuh tendered his resignation with immediate effect on Monday.
In a tersely worded four paragraph resignation letter addressed to the Chairman of the club and dated December 15th, 2019, the experienced coach regretted that his “decision to step aside was as a result of some level of (in)discipline and insubordination by some of the players which has caused the team valuable points since the start of the season “.
In a letter of acceptance, club secretary Comrade Omon Bassey thanked coah Obuh for service rendered to the club during his shirt spell.
“Yes, coaches take responsibility when things go awry, yet we can testify to the professionalism and discipline you brought to bear in the running of the club including your untiring belief in the God factor in the life of this great organisation. We will miss you” the letter stated.
Akwa United wished him well in his future endeavours, “even as we daily strive to restore the confidence of our numerous fans worldwide, especially the government and good people of Akwa Ibom State.
In another development and in a move to restore sanity, the club management has suspended one player indefinitely, while two are undergoing disciplinary related investigation.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: