IPCR DG, Bakut heads Nat’l Peace Comm. Establishment C’ttee

By Ochiaka Ugwu

Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Boss Mustapha has inaugurated the Committee on the establishment of a National Peace Commission (NPC) with the Acting Director General of the Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution (IPCR), Dr. Bakut tswah Bakut as chairman.
In a release signed by the Institute’s Resident Information Officer (RIO) Abu I. Michael in Abuja yesterday, it noted that Mustapha who was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Special Duties, Dr. Amina Bello said the National Economic Council (NEC) recommended the establishment of the commission and peace agencies for states after reviewing the security situation of Nigeria in August 2017, adding that the NEC identified ethno-religious crisis as one of the sources of insecurity which must be addressed.
“Expressing the significance of the task before the committee, he urged them to take cognizance of the myriads of the security challenges across the country citing terrorism in the north east, armed banditry, cattle rustling and kidnapping in the north west; farmers and herdsmen’s crisis in the north central, secessionist agitations in the south east, pipeline vandalism, oil bunkering and theft and cultism in the south south as well as adverse activities of electricity vandals and oil bunkers in the south west and south south.
The terms of reference of the committee among other things was to develop a suitable framework for the establishment of NPC at the Federal level and Peace Agencies at state level; articulate the functions of the commission, and the peace agencies; draw the administrative structures and organogram for the commission and the state peace agencies.
The committee is expected to also recommend the legal framework for the commission and the peace agencies, and any other issues the committee would deemed as relevant to the accomplishment of its assignment.
Members of the committee included the Gbong Gwom Jos, Dr. Jacob Gyang representing the National Council of Traditional Rulers of Nigeria (NCTRN); Professor Is-haq Oloyede representing the Nigerian Inter-Religious Council (NIREC); Naval Commodore James Aliyu Pindar for Defence Headquatrters; DCP Ebong E. Eyibio for the Nigeria Police; and Deputy Commandant General (Crisis Management) of the NSCDC, Dr. Adeoye A. Emmanuel. Others were the Director for Special Duties, Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF), Olowoofoyeku James Olusoji; Director PRS from NOA, Bona J. Tagwai;
Nnelai Bush representative of the DSS; Mr. Faanee K. Bebu from the Federal Ministry of Justice; and that of the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, O. M. Olaoyeifde.
They were given three months to accomplish their task and submit reports.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *