Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Thu, Nov 1st, 2018

INEC fix 27th November for Toro Federal constituency bye election

Share This

From Ahmad Mohammed, Bauchi

Stakeholders in the Election process in Bauchi State have agreed on the plans of the Independent National Electoral Commission to conduct bye election for Toro Federal Constituency on the seventeenth of next month 17/11/18.
The bye election would be conducted following the victory of the Member representing Toro Federal Constituency Lawal Yahaya Gumau, during the recent Bauchi South Senatorial bye election.
Speaking at an interactive session with election stakeholders, the Bauchi State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Alhaji Ibrahim Abdullahi said the Commission has received formal notification from the leadership of the lower chamber, that Toro Federal constituency is vacant and based on constitution, deems it necessary to conduct the bye election within thirty Days.
He said the Commission has made adequate arrangements to meet the challenges encountered during the conduct of bye election which resulted to the cancellation of election of some polling and voting units.
The State Resident Electoral Commissioner emphasized the need for all hands to be on deck for the success of the election, appealed to political parties to warn their supporters against engaging in election violence.
Alhaji Ibrahim Abdullahi said that the bye election of Toro Federal Constituency would be conducted in three hundred and eighty three polling and voting units in the area.
On the number of uncollected Permanent Voter’s Card, the Commissioner urged Traditional leaders to educate their subjects on the importance of obtaining the card.
Representatives of political parties that spoke at the meeting supported the intentions of INEC to conduct the bye election on the 17 of next month, and called on the Commission to take measures to overcome the challenges associated with the non functional of card readers during elections exercise.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: