Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Jun 23rd, 2014

How we won Ekiti -PDP

Share This

By Lawrence Olaoye

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has also attributed its victory in the Ekiti governorship election to its strict adherence to the principles of internal democracy and transparency in the conduct of their governorship primary.

In a statement issued by the National Publicity Secretary of the party, Olisa Metuh, the party said this transparent governorship primary by the party produced a popular candidate who is the overwhelming choice of party members in the state.

It said the victory was also a clear confirmation of its position that the All Progressives Congress (APC) is not really on the ground and has no genuine followership even in states that are under its control.

Thanking the people of Ekiti state for their support, the PDP urged the governor- elect to ensure an all-inclusive administration that will revamp and reposition the state in line with the manifesto and ideology of the PDP, against the APC’s valleys of poverty, stagnation and ruin.

The PDP charged the APC to imbibe the spirit of sportsmanship by accepting a clear defeat and congratulating the PDP and the governor-elect, insisting that the handwriting has since been on the wall as evidenced in the massive support Fayose has been receiving since he emerged as PDP candidate.

“We demand of the APC, the sportsmanship required of democrats in an electoral contest by congratulating the victorious candidate just as we did in Edo state where it won and in Ondo and Anambra States where Labour and APGA won respectively, instead of taking to incitement and other bad loser syndrome”, the statement said.

The party further congratulated President Goodluck Jonathan on his principled stand on the legacy of credible elections, saying “We wish to state very emphatically that the commitment of the President remains the greatest motivation to the new story of credible polls in Nigeria”.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: