Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Fri, Jun 20th, 2014

Guber poll: IGP deploys 1 AIG, 5 CPs to Ekiti

Share This

nigeria police badge logoThe Inspector-General of Police, Mr Mohammed Abubakar, has deployed an Assistant Inspector-General of Police and five Commissioners of Police to Ekiti to supervise security arrangements for tomorrow’s governorship election.

This is contained in a statement issued yesterday in Abuja by CSP Frank Mba, Force Public Relations Officer.

The statement stated that AIG Bala Nasarawa, would be assisted by CP Ikechukwu Aduba, while CP Hosea Karma, would take charge of the Police Mobile Force.

It stated that CPs Danladi Mshelbwala, Mohammed Ibrahim and Augustine Eubakhabokum, would be in charge of Ekiti North, Central and South, respectively.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalled that Abubakar had earlier deployed Deputy Inspector-General of Police (Operations), Mike Zuokumor, to coordinate security before, during and after the election.

The statement stated that there would be restriction of movement in and out of Ekiti from 6pm today until the elections were over.

“On Saturday 21st June 2014, which is the day of the election, movements will be restricted within the state between 6am to 8pm.

“Consequently,  Kwara, Kogi, Ondo and Osun, which are contiguous to Ekiti will have increased police presence with all entry and exit points in and out of Ekiti maximally policed.

“Persons on essential duties such as Ambulance service providers, INEC officials, security men, accredited election monitors/observers, accredited journalists, etc are not affected by this order”, it explained.

According to the statement, which acknowledged the citizen’s right to freedom of movement as enshrined in the constitution, the restriction is informed by the exigencies of overriding security. (NAN)

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: