Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Mon, Dec 8th, 2014

Gov Yero wins Kaduna guber primaries

Share This

From Mohammad Ibrahim and Femi Oyelola, Kaduna

Governor Mukhtar Ramalan Yero of Kaduna State yesterday won the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primary election held in the state.

 The governor recorded 970 out of the 972 total votes cast by delegates from the 23 local government areas of the state.

 The governor defeated Senator Haruna Aziz Zego who got only 1 vote which he cast for himself at the Murtala Square Kaduna.

 These came when three out of the five aspirants cleared for the primary withdrew from the race.

 The aspirants are former Secretary to Kaduna State government, Samaila Lawal Yakawada, former minister of state for aviation, Felix Hassan Hyat and Air Commando John Boko Ajeye (rtd).

 Speaking after conducting the election, Chairman of the Kaduna state PDP governorship primary committee, Dr Steven Oru said there was level playing field for all the aspirants.

In his remarks, Governor Yero commended the delegates for their support.

People Daily observed that over 200 soldiers, unspecified  number of policemen and other security agents were stationed at the venue of the governorship  primaries.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: