Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
" />
Published On: Tue, Nov 7th, 2017

Ganduje appoints BUK don as Kano Electoral Commission chairman

Share This

From Mustapha Adamu, Kano

The Governor of Kano State, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, has appointed Professor Ibrahim Garba Sheka as the chairman of the Kano State Independent Electoral Commission (KANSIEC).
The governor has also appointed Alhaji Abdallah Abba and Alhaji Dahiru Abbas Kacako as commissioners of the electoral body.
The oath was administered by the state’s new Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Barrister Ibrahim Mukhtar at the government house, yesterday.
Speaking during the swearing-in of the appointees, Ganduje said the newly appointed heads of the electoral body would determine the date for the next Local Government elections in the state.
He described Sheka as a non-partisan academic who has excelled in economic endeavor, expressing confidence that he would reform the commission with his vast knowledge of current affairs.
Ganduje said “ He is an honest and transparent person whom we had optimism that he would transform the electoral body to a better standard. He and his commissioners would determine when to conduct the next Local Government elections.
“This two commissioners would work together with the professor. We also have confidence in them. Therefore, we urge them to be diligent and honest in discharging their duties,” he said
While fielding questions from journalists after the swearing-ing, Sheka, a former Vice Chancellor in the ABU, revealed to journalists that the commission would hold the Local Government elections in February, 2018.
He also restated commitment to reform the commission with modern electoral processes, vowing to work diligently in a bid to develop the state’s politics.
Professor Sheka is a revered professor of economics in Bayero University Kano who had his first and second degree at Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), between 1980 and 1985.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: